Nowhere but here

I was reading my latest obsession today, webcomic Questionable Content, and in the run of a couple strips, a character gets laid off, and part of the conversation runs they discuss what to do with a severance check.

In this case, the character in question was going to blow it all on a European vacation of some sort.

I stopped reading and immediately typed in aircanada.com. What a great idea! I could take my hard-earned severance and go somewhere beautiful.

But when I got to the little form where you indicate WHERE you want to go… I drew a blank. There’s no where I really want to GO right now. The idea of traveling far and wide with a backpack and a pocket full of dreams… well it just doesn’t appeal to me at this moment.

All I want to do is go HOME to MY ISLAND and be with my family and my dog and my beaches.

I feel like the next year or so will be full of making up my mind. Trying to figure out where I want to BE and what I want to DO. I feel like I’ve spent a lot of the past while bopping around aimlessly. Kind of searching for the RIGHT PLACE to settle and make my home.

I’ve always said I’d like to end up back on the east coast, but I thought maybe that would come later in life. Maybe this whole layoff thing has just sped up the route I was going to take anyways.

There’s no place like home, right Dorothy?

19 Responses to “Nowhere but here”

  1. Kennie Says:

    Jackie –

    go back to the Island. Get a nice beach chair. Park it in the sand next to a cooler filled with ice and ‘lemonade’. Pick up a book and relax. You deserve a break before pondering all of those “what” questions.

    • Jackie S. Quire Says:

      You know, that’s exactly what my plans are. Except somewhere in there, the puppy exists too. He’s probably rolling in the sand and getting freaked out by waves.
      There are some good times ahead, I’m sure.

  2. Meandering Michael Says:

    Except for the Air Canada part, it really IS a great idea. Your travels might take you to the next place you’d like to call home.

    • Jackie S. Quire Says:

      I know, I know. Air Canada is pretty much the bane of my existence too… except that when it comes to Eastern Canada, they really have more options than Westjet.
      At least they don’t make you pay for checking baggage (AHEM United Airlines AHEM)

  3. allmycke Says:

    Jackie,
    Going back home might be just the ticket for you – put away the severance pay for now and take stock, so to say.

  4. Karri Says:

    I hear you. Completely. There is nowhere I would rather be than where I am right now.

    I’ll be waiting for you here – on the beach if you like! 🙂

  5. Lindsay Says:

    There really is no place like home….

  6. Geri Says:

    Great thought to come East, Jackie, and spend some time with FAMILY & friends….& jst as good a thought to make your HOME in this direction.:)

  7. small leather satchel Says:

    small leather satchel

    Nowhere but here | Serendipity Now

  8. louis vuitton top handle bag Says:

    louis vuitton top handle bag

    Nowhere but here | Serendipity Now

  9. generac pressure Washer parts Says:

    generac pressure Washer parts

    Nowhere but here | Serendipity Now

  10. Costco Luggage Sets In Store Says:

    Costco Luggage Sets In Store

    Nowhere but here | Serendipity Now

  11. electriq tv remote code Says:

    electriq tv remote code

    Nowhere but here | Serendipity Now

  12. carta da parati versace Says:

    carta da parati versace

    Nowhere but here | Serendipity Now

  13. asian adult movies Says:

    asian adult movies

    Nowhere but here | Serendipity Now

  14. one day at a time tv show Says:

    one day at a time tv show

    Nowhere but here | Serendipity Now

Leave a comment