Anywhere but here

Actually, that should read Anywhere but here but that function doesn’t work in titles.

Reader says…

Regardless of what your little note says, you’ll miss this place more than you think.

Let’s just step back here a little bit. I don’t hate Rankin Inlet. I don’t hate living here. I don’t hate the people here. I don’t hate my job.

In fact, I like Rankin. I like the people here. I like my job.

But I’m not happy here. I’m really not. There are things I want and need (proximity to my family, for one) that I cannot have here.

And now that I don’t have my job, I’m leaving. That’s just the way it is. And that I choose to look at this as an opportunity, not a devastating life change is… well, is me. It doesn’t reflect how I feel about this place. It reflects my outlook on life, I suppose. And it’s time for me to move on.

I was talking to another blogger this morning about much the same topic. We’re both 20-something gals who moved up to Nunavut a couple years ago, and are now moving on. Not because we hate the places we came to, but because we’ve exhausted our options up here. And there’s more out there for us. AND: It’s Time To Move On.

But yes, there are things I will miss. Of course there are. I spent just five months in Quebec City, was lonely a lot of the time because I didn’t know anyone, but I still miss my apartment there – and it’s beautiful view of Chateau Frontenac and the countless parks within walking distance. I miss scaling the walls of vieux quebec, I miss walking my friend’s dog. I miss the summer music festival.

And that was just five months.

I’ve been here – by the time I leave – just under two years. There are parts of me no one understands anymore because I’ve been Rankin-ized. I raise my eyebrows when I mean “yes,” I scrunch up my face when I mean “no.” I hang up the phone before the other person says goodbye (okay, well that’s just rude, I know, but no one ever says ‘bye’ over here). I don’t care what I look like when I go to the grocery store, because I know there’s someone behind me whose PJ pants are rattier than mine.

Some of that I’ll take with me, some of that will fade away (hopefully I’ll adopt more polite telephone etiquette). But I don’t doubt for a second that I’ll miss this place.

A lot happened here. And I won’t forget that.

Currently listening to: Oh No! Oh My!: Be a Star (on repeat)

7 Responses to “Anywhere but here”

  1. Jason Says:

    I lived in Rankin for 4 years. I also did the face thing. Actually, this past school year I have started doing it again since I have Inuk kids.

    The hanging up the phone without saying goodbye was common place back then, too. Although some people did say, “taima” before hanging up. We used to get wrong numbers all the time and I learned how to respond: tarmatutit… I was told it meant “you’re wrong.”

    Did you not learn how to say “hi” by performing an exagerated nod? Rankin people don’t do that anymore?

    • Jackie S. Quire Says:

      LOL, I did the head nod even before I moved up, so that was just par for the course haha

  2. lhunter Says:

    We have never met but I think I know You a bit…I wish You all the best in the future and will miss Your blog from Rankin…..

    Who knows the world we live in is small and some day I might meet You on some Island some where between here and there lol…

    Take care and enjoy your family again …for awhile any ways…

  3. Robyn Says:

    Oh god…. ratty pj pants in the grocery store?? Stacey and Clinton would have a fit. I’m DEFINITELY nominating you now 😛

    • Jackie S. Quire Says:

      Oh god RIGHT BACK AT YOU. Who CARES what I wear?! I still like the show, but seriously, I don’t care what people think of me when I’m choosing between flavours of Lays chips.

  4. karen Says:

    Would love to hear from someone that lives in Rankin Inlet as my daughter just moved there,

Leave a Reply

