Catching up over garlic fingers, diet pepsi and grilled bread

Almost six years ago now (wow, it has really been that long) I worked at the Beaumont-Hamel Newfoundland and Vimy Ridge memorial in northern France. I was a tour guide at these two WWI monuments, though primarily at Beaumont-Hamel. I lived and worked and travelled through Europe for almost five months. To think I did this at the age of 21 didn’t seem like such a big deal at the time, but looking back, we were just kids having the time of our lives, not realizing this was an opportunity of a lifetime. 

It wasn’t all rosy, don’t get me wrong. I lived in a house with 7 other twenty-somethings. We fought madly over dishwashing and weekly chores. French elementary school children mocked my accent. I was chased into a trench by a herd of sheep. I had my first (and so far only) trip in the back of an ambulance (I was fine. My room mate was … well that’s another story). 

Image

This evening I had a mini-reunion with one of my fellow former guides. He and his partner were on a road trip through PEI before returning from Christmas vacation to Ottawa. We haven’t talked for years, but it was nice to catch up over garlic fingers, diet pepsi and grilled bread. 

I guess that’s what life becomes — especially if you do what I do, skipping from province to province to territory to foreign country. We come together over holidays and road trips, unexpected travel delays and planned layovers. 

There’s never enough time, but you do what you can, to keep those connections alive.

One Response to “Catching up over garlic fingers, diet pepsi and grilled bread”

  1. Ice puddle inkblot diagram | Says:

    […] to content HomeAbout: MeAbout: Commenting ← Catching up over garlic fingers, diet pepsi and grilled bread January 4, 2012 · 9:33 PM ↓ Jump to […]

Leave a Reply

