Merrymaking in Moncton, NB

ImageFor the past couple of years I’ve spent New Year’s Eve in the grand metropolis of Moncton, NB. My parents drop me off on the PEI side of the Confederation Bridge. I take the shuttle across, and my friend Nathalie (from my Rankin Inlet days) picks me up on the other side. Then off we go to her cousin’s place where a lot of Alpine is consumed and general merriment made.

Before I left this year, the family joked that my annual trip has become a bit of a tradition. When I got there, I realized it hadn’t just become a tradition for me — but for them too. This is a group of people who have known one another for decades. And somehow, after just a couple of hours spread over a couple of years, I’ve become part of their lives in the same way they’ve become part of mine.

One Response to “Merrymaking in Moncton, NB”

  1. Megan Says:

    Nice to have you back!

Leave a Reply

