WAS THIS DRAWN ON AN ETCH-A-SKETCH?

It’s not that I don’t pay attention to pop culture. It’s just that I don’t do the You Tube thing. I don’t really watch videos online. I think that’s because that became really popular and common when I moved up north. And because my internet cost 60 bucks a month and only gave me 2 gigs of bandwidth a month (and worked more or less at the speed of dialup) and it just wasn’t practical.

So I’ll admit, I’m a little behind the ball on this critique of WORST “MUSIC” “VIDEO” ever.

I’ve been hearing this song actually for a week now (maybe more). My colleague, who has 2 teen kids (one with a razor-sharp sense of irony and who is on my facebook because I think she’s hilarious) has been singing it (at least the “Friday Friday Friday” part) but somehow remixed it with Beiber’s “Baby Baby Baby” chorus, and the 15 second song loop from the dancing singing Saddam Hussein action figure toy that has appeared at the bureau since I got back from vacation.

Yes, seriously.

So this evening my loving sister forced me to watch the truly toxic “Friday” music video. If you, like me, haven’t seen it — you need to.

The following is a live-stream of my horror as expressed to my sister while watching this abomination.

WAS THIS DRAWN ON AN ETCH-A-SKETCH?
THIS IS NOT SINGING
THAT KID IS NOT OLD ENOUGH TO DRIVE
OMG FRONT SEAT OR BACK SEAT? LIFE IS SO HARD!!
“We we we so excited?” SHE HAS LOST THE ABILITY TO USE VERBS.
I think she’s brain damaged.
At least she knows the order of the days of the week?
I’m very worried for the future.

4 Responses to “WAS THIS DRAWN ON AN ETCH-A-SKETCH?”

  1. Megan Says:

    Yeah, it’s pretty awful. But it’s no worse than any of the stuff the Black-Eyed Peas have put out.

    This is why I listen to Patti Smith and Stevie Nicks.

  2. kara Says:

    That was horrible!! I had heard it was pretty bad, but had yet to experience it for myself. I lasted just over a minute, but had to kill it at that point.

    I am much happier with my music find of the band “Trampled by Turtles” this week. WAY BETTER! And they have banjos.

  3. sister Says:

    a) if your friend Kara only made it 1 mintue in… then she missed the rapping, which i think totally adds to the message of how important friday’s are
    b) the girl’s next single is called LOL. – keep an eye out for it.
    c) dont watch it too many yimes (even if its just because you think its funny) – you may catch “the black plague” and yes – it is deadly.

  4. Ed Says:

    Next time you check things, you’ll see that the video you posted is a dead link. And YouTube is one word. You didn’t miss much. I heard a clip of the song on TV and it sounded like yet another fake singer using the robotic-sounding auto-tune effect (the Cher effect) throughout. Auto-tune is the worst thing to ever happen to music. We no longer hear real singers, we just hear electronically enhanced singers. Talent is officially dead.

Leave a Reply

