I’m so bloody stubborn

It is February 28th.

And after a four-month hiatus, I got back on the running wagon tonight. And it wasn’t near as hard as I thought it would be.

You see, once upon a time, many months ago, I had a running buddy. Both of us equally hateful of the ‘sport’ but she continued on after I finished in the fall. She’s now planning to run a half marathon in the spring. Crazy girl.

I on the other hand, picked up biking to work (which I LOVE — it helps I only live 2.5k from home) and completely neglected the whole running thing. I made up plenty of excuses: too cold (which was true, for the most part) too icy (yah right, like I’m going to kill myself with these bad ankles) the list goes on.

Maybe in the end, I just didn’t FEEL like it. Who knows.

What I do know, is that any time anyone asked me about if I was still running, I became more and more entrenched in my quest NOT to run. It’s bizarre, I know. It’s like the more people encourage me to be physically active, the less I want to do it.

Maybe I think it’s some kind of personal slight?

Anyways, for no apparently reason, I decided to go for a run when I got home this evening. Part of it was I didn’t feel completely zonked when I left work for the day. Part of it was it was actually DAYLIGHT when I left the office. Part of it was I missed wearing my comfy sneakers (I have a rule: they are for running ONLY). And part of it was I had a truly gluttonous weekend.

In any case, I came home, laced up and ran 3.5 kilometers.

And while I was pretty sure I was going to collapse when I walked in the front door, I actually felt fine. Which is crazy, because it took me more than a month to get to 5 and 1 back in the summer (5 minutes running, 1 minute walking — it’s a Running Room thing). And somehow I still have the endurance (?) to make it happen, MONTHS after I stopped.

So I guess getting back on the wagon is easier than I thought.

(And apologies to all those out there who really don’t come here for a fitness blog. I promise it will NOT become one, but sometimes I need to selflessly bask in my own achievements. This is one of them. Back to your regularly scheduled vapid programming shortly, I promise).

6 Responses to “I’m so bloody stubborn”

  1. Sarah Says:

    Way to go! My running relationship ended, oh god, last May? Maybe? Good on you!!

  2. Robyn Says:

    I’m still impressed that you’re running! I keep trying to pick it up, but I refuse to run outside while it’s snowing (I’m far too klutzy for that), and I’ve realized that I’m waaaay too uncoordinated to run on a treadmill. I keep trying, but at around the 10 minute mark I get hyper aware of the fact that the ground is moving under my feet, and then I start zig-zagging and stumbling and have to stop before I do a face plant. I figure I’ll try again outside when this blasted snow melts, and bring the pup along…

    Except the pup is afraid of joggers, which always makes things interesting.

  3. The Crazy Girl Says:

    I’m very proud of you!!!

  4. Jaavv Says:

    I’m just trying to get my head around how you live 2.5 km from home. You’re complicated. šŸ™‚

    • Jackie S. Quire Says:

      Smartass.
      Actually, I spend probably more time at work than I do at home these days. Freudian slip šŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

