In Flanders Fields

In 2006 I somehow found myself living and working in Northern France, as a tour guide at Vimy Ridge and Beaumont Hamel. Most people know the story of Vimy Ridge, but Beaumont Hamel is lesser-known, and where I spent most of my time working.

It was then I started blogging. You can see that original blog here: http://jackiesharkey.blogspot.com/

I did a lot of travelling when I was there. Including a trip up through the northern battlefields in France, up through Belgium, to Ypres and Flanders Fields. I don’t think I realized then how lucky I was to be doing what I was doing, and seeing what I was seeing.

And for those who haven’t or can’t… I want you to “see” too. So here’s some photos from my battlefield trip.

Enjoy!


Flanders Fields — where John McRae wrote the poem.

Menin Gate, in  Ypres, Belgium.

Age Fourteen. Today we call that a child soldier.

We will remember.

2 Responses to “In Flanders Fields”

  1. Faye Says:

    Nice touch Jackie

  2. Edith MacDonald Says:

    Happy Remembrance Day Jackie!

    Edith

Leave a Reply

