Yes, I’m shocked too

I never thought I’d see the day when I’d write a blog post about Justin Bieber.

I know so little about this teeny-bopper, I don’t think I’ve ever consciously heard one of his marshmellow-y songs (though I’m sure I have, just didn’t know that’s what I was listening to) and had to double-check the spelling of his last name in that first reference.

But I am starting to feel really bad for the kid. He’s now allegedly tied up in some sort of legal fight because he may have pushed another kid who may have made some snide comment about Bieber’s sexual orientation earlier this week in Vancouver.

But then I read a version of this article in our local paper. I almost didn’t even read the headline because next to it was a quarter-page photo of Bieber, and as a general rule I ignore all things Bieber.

Here’s the general idea:

Toronto radio station CFNY has been reprimanded by the Canadian Broadcast Standards Council after a host made comments about Justin Bieber fans that the council concluded “inappropriately sexualized children.”

(and this one is pretty rough)

According to the council’s account: “To a female fan, Blundell said he had tweeted, ‘Save your energy for puberty or to fend off your dad tonight while you’re sleepin.'” About the one male fan who had contacted him, Blundell said, “He’ll be chuggin’ before he’s 18 … if he likes that music.”

I don’t understand. What is it about this child that simultaneously makes tweens scream and other subsets of the population turn into toads?

This can’t possibly be the fair price of fame.

One Response to “Yes, I’m shocked too”

  1. sister Says:

    that article is discusting.

    its true though – people are meaner to this kid than anyone else.

    they called Hanson girls too. that couldnt have been easy.

    punched a 12 year old boy? i get that life is probably really difficult with his sexuality questioned in every paper. but punching a kid that is 4 years younger than him…

    4 years is a lot

Leave a Reply

