Reading and writing

When I left the north, I stopped paying close attention to the blogosphere.
This was for a number of reasons, I think.

  • I was starting a new chapter in my life — and it was a bit of a scary one. I didn’t know where I was going or why or how or when. This resulted in majorly depressing blog posts that I thought no one enjoyed.
  • And at the same time, felt that I needed to leave some of the heartbreak and hard times behind and not think about the north for awhile. Tricky, since my readers seemed to be split between family and friends who were interested in my life up north, and those people I met through the northern blogging world.
  • I was living at home, so the lines of communication were more direct. One of the main purposes of my blog was to stay in touch with family back home — the phone connection in Rankin made that really difficult. As hard as it is to believe, the time-delay and echos on the phone line made it so I really didn’t have a normal phone conversation with my parents for about two years.
  • And I no longer had that desperate, compulsive need to connect with other people. It became easier to do, effortless.
  • Finally, I had joined twitter, and found that suddenly I could condense those 500-word posts to 140 characters.

So yes, I’ve fallen off the wagon.
And I’m realizing if I want to keep this blog I’m going to have to work at it and maybe redefine why I’m doing it.

5 Responses to “Reading and writing”

  1. Kara Says:

    Your stalkers miss you!

    🙂

  2. Megan Says:

    Yeah, we want to read more from you!

  3. Dave Says:

    I enjoy your blog a bunch, looking forward to reading more of your writing.

  4. Edith MacDonald Says:

    Happy belated Thanksgiving Jackie!

    Edith

  5. Karri Justina Shea Says:

    We did chat about this, but just wanted to remind you that your blogs are always enjoyable to read, and I hope that you find your niche and keep them up!

Leave a Reply

