Things I am never allowed to buy again

  • Writing utensils: this includes pens, pencils (both regular and mechanical), markers, hilighters, and all species of Sharpies (regular, micro-sized, black and multi-coloured)
  • Earbud earphones (I found 5 different sets today)
  • Dog treats (I found a whole stocking full of 20 or 30 large dog treats I bought on sale after Christmas two years ago. Good thing rawhide never goes bad…)
  • 3.5mm to 3.5mm stereo cables (I only ever use this when I’m in a rental car and I want to hook up my iPod — but do you think I ever remember to pack one of them when I leave the house? No. That’s why I discovered 5 of them in various boxes this afternoon)
  • Razors (Seriously, I must have thought I was heading into the Amazon for an extended period of time. I probably have about 40 unused, in-package razors. I blame, in part, Jaime. She dumped about three 10-packs on me when she left for Iqaluit.
  • Ipod cases
  • Network cable (I have enough to wire a mansion, but alas, we’ve all gone wireless now, haven’t we?)
  • RCA cables (Enough for four televisions — I have two, and one of them is HD, so no need)
  • Binders
  • Notebooks/Journals (I now have at least 3 or 4 black hard-cover notebooks that I started writing in, only to abandon for the latest version of black hard-cover notebook)
  • Lip gloss
  • Moisturizer
  • Pennies

Okay well you don’t technically buy pennies, but I have enough of them to put a kaibash on all off the little copper bastards for the rest of my life.

So it’s that time of year again! That time when I like to put all my wordly goods in various sized Rubbermaid containers and cardboard boxes and truck them to a new home. This time I’m just moving across the city — not the country, for once — so it should be a lot less to organize.

But the shameful thing I realized today (which was connected to unearthing the above list of excess useless cords, cables and do-dads) there were four boxes/Rubbermaid totes marked “misc.” that I never unpacked from the last move. Seriously.

So I spend the whole afternoon sorting through them. I had a bunch of “a-ha!” moments, like when I found my home-made first aid kit (I can now add Band-aids to the above list of things never to buy again) and my SIN card. But I also unearthed a bunch of stuff I haven’t though of or used for the past year, but can’t get rid of.

As a friend of mine once liked to repeat (over and over and over) “The things you own, end up owning you” — Fight Club

Admittedly, most of it’s junk. Coasters from pubs I ate at with my grandmother and sister when we were in the UK two years ago. Letters from old boyfriends. An order form from one time when I did a liquor order through Churchill from Rankin. CDs I’d transferred onto my laptop years ago, no longer really listen to, but have held on to. Unopened issues of WIRED magazine.

Eventually I’m going to have to do a harsh purge of this stuff– sentiment be damned. The magazines, will go, no doubt (once I make sure they do their due dilligence on washroom rotation). But the coasters, the CDs… that will be harder. As I sifted through all this STUFF I took little jaunts down memory lane.

And ultimately, that’s why I keep it all. I keep it because I want to come back to the boxes and sift through and remember.

Because I always uncover memories I’d long forgotten.

4 Responses to “Things I am never allowed to buy again”

  1. Jaime Says:

    Hahaha I don’t remember leaving you all those razors, that’s funny. Send ’em back if you want! 😉

  2. Mongoose Says:

    Keep the memories, if you can. I’ve gone through three rounds of throwing out mementoes that I just couldn’t bring with me… it gets harder every time, since the ones left are the ones that meant enough to survive the earlier purges. Now I often think about my mementoes, rotting in the landfills in Edmonton, Calgary and Hay River.

  3. Renée Says:

    Haha I can totally identify. We’re getting ready to move…and in 2.5 years of being in a three-bedroom townhouse I don’t even want to know how much junk we’ve amassed.

    I’m the same way though…I’ve got all kinds of boxes with things in it that I have kept only for nostalgia sake.

    Just be glad you haven’t saved every single movie ticket stub from every movie you’re ever gone to. Yep, I’ve done that.

    Jeez writing that down makes is worse. I’m off to apply for the next season of Hoarders…

  4. Clare Says:

    Did you know Sharpie is coming out with a pencil? Erasable for about 3 hours, after that it’s permanent.

    Oh wait, you’ve got a moratorium on writing implements so you won’t want one.

Leave a Reply

