A new series

So the blog fodder has been quickly stripped away ever since I moved down south … and ever since I started on Twitter.

So I’m starting up a new series called ‘Recipes for 1.’

Why?

Because my biggest challenge these days, it seems, is cooking food just for little old me. Up north, I had a cooking buddy, so we made many MANY of our meals together, then fought over the leftovers. I don’t have that anymore, and with more than 3 restaurants in town (a blessing AND a curse in Rankin) and too little time… I am wasting ALOT of my paycheque on takeout.

Granted, that takeout is more often than not amazingly delicious (last week it was a yellow Thai curry… droool!), but I’m trying to get better at making dinner at home — something I really do love to do, it’s just hard when I’m the only one to eat it.

So the first in the series will be a chowder I made tonight and just blew me away. I was never EVER a soup girl before. That is until my Northern Cooking Buddy introduced me to Jalapeno Soup. That’s when I learned it’s not soup I don’t care for… it’s CANNED and MIXED soup I don’t like.

And without further ado…

Corn and Bacon Chowder.

This, like hopefully all of the recipes in the series, will be for 4 servings or less. Just enough for a full meal and a couple days of leftovers.

Ingredients:

  • 2 or 3 slices bacon, chopped
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1/2 yellow pepper (or red pepper), seeded and chopped
  • 2 1/2 cups chicken stock or broth
  • 2 medium potatoes, peeled and cubed
  • 2 cups whole corn kernels (I used frozen)
  • 1/2 cup light (or regular) cream

1. Cook bacon in a medium saucepan over medium-high heat. Add 2 tbsp water, heat until crisp. Remove half and put aside (for topping).

2. Add onion, bell pepper, 2 tsp water to saucepan (with remaining 1/2 bacon). Saute until soft, about 5 minutes. Add stock and potatoes, bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer, until potatoes are tender, about 15 minutes. Stir in corn, simmer 5 minutes longer. Remove from heat.

3. Transfer 2 cups of soup to a food processor or blender, puree. Pour back into the saucepan. Stir in the cream, heat to serving temperature. Serve topped with bacon bits.

7 Responses to “A new series”

  1. Karri Says:

    I like this new series! Samosas next? 🙂

    • Jackie S. Quire Says:

      Samosas will be very soon! I am 100% thrilled with the filling, but I’m not completely satisfied with the shell/crust. Once I have that perfected, it’ll be making an appearance FOR SURE!

  2. Robyn Says:

    Fun series! Do others get to add recipes too? (I have a bunch stock-piled… I’ve been cooking for 1 for the last 3 years).

    • Jackie S. Quire Says:

      Absolutely — though I think my rule will be I want to try them out before making them a full-fledged post.
      If you want to add recipes in the comments section, you’re more than welcome to though!

  3. Kimberly Says:

    Love this idea!
    (Also, I’d like to hear about jalapeno soup, even if it makes too many servings it sounds like I’d really like it.)

  4. allmycke Says:

    This is great! I’ve been doing battle with the cooking-for-one over the past almost 2 years – and am failing way too often…
    Jalapeno soup sounds interesting – will you share?

  5. Jackie S. Quire Says:

    Jalapeno soup is just outta this world, of course I’ll share! And you won’t believe how easy it is to make at home — a word of warning though, you don’t want to try to make that one if you’re following a low-cal diet! It’s super rich and ultra tasty.

    I had no idea how well-received this idea would be! I was worried it was going to come off as a cop-out!

Leave a Reply

