On Renting

I should make one thing clear: I’m not actually ACTIVELY looking for a new apartment. It still feels like I just moved in. Actually — and I’m not proud of this — there are still unpacked boxes and totes swamped in both my bedroom and guest room.

Some, for good reason: I sold my bookcase back in Rankin so I have no place to PUT all my books. So for now they stay in boxes. Others, there’s no real excuse. I have too much junk. Ugh.

But try as I might, I can’t stop myself from perusing the rentals classifieds. I tell myself it’s to get a better idea of what’s out there, so that when my lease is up in October I will be informed and prepared enough to make a sensible decision on the matter.

It’s not that I don’t like my place. Actually, I love my apartment. It’s a great size, it’s on a golf course where I can go walk the pup around the paved cart trails that snake around the property. It’s still basically brand new — just 2 or 3 years old now. And it’s really well designed. Who ever put this place together obviously put some thought into it. I like the place, I really do.

BUT.

I don’t know a single person over here, on the “west side.” And it’s still such a new, growing area that … I hate to say it, but… it lacks personality over here. It’s all strip malls and Walmart stores.

Ultimately, I’ve decided, I’d like to live within a 30 minute walk of work/downtown. That’s actually a decent-sized radius, because downtown Kelowna is about the size of a cashew (slightly bigger than a peanut, for all those following my legume-based sizing comparisons).

And I’d love to pay a little less than what I am right now. Don’t get me wrong, like I said, my place is beautiful. It’s got all the perks imaginable, and it will take a pretty spectacular arrangement to beat what I have here (underground parking, heat and air conditioning included, washer and dryer in my apartment 2 BATHROOMS?!?) but that’s why I’m looking around 8 months in advance!

Here’s what I’ve observed: apartments in Kelowna are typically overpriced. Most apartments listed in the local classifieds are in the neighbourhood of 1000-1500 dollars a month.

Duplexes, triplexes and townhouses, on the other hand, are more in my range: 800-1100 (and up of course, if you’re looking for more than 2 bedrooms).

And then there’s the quaint “carriage house” subset. I don’t know why, but I find the idea of living in a little “carriage house” just so charming! From what I understand, carriage houses are basically apartment-sized single-floor units, that are completely separate from other buildings. So basically a very tiny house.

If I could find an affordable carriage house within a 30 minute walk of work, that would be amazing. But then I’m sure I’d be complaining because it wouldn’t have an underground parking spot or no air conditioning or something like that.

There’s no pleasing me!

2 Responses to “On Renting”

  1. tuesy Says:

    My friend used to live down by the hospital in a cute rental house on Speer St. It was a nice, little neighbourhood. I’m not sure if it fits into to your walk to work criteria, though. Lots of carriage houses there.

  2. Jackie S. Quire Says:

    Actually, that’s very much within the area I’d be happy to live in. It’s about a 20 minute walk from downtown.
    I’m glad to hear what I’m looking for *MIGHT* be in reach!

Leave a Reply

