Unwanted gift

Back in Rankin, I used to check the mail twice a day, most days. It was tradition, and precisely timed to coincide with the latest mail shipment (coming either north from Winnipeg or east from Yellowknife). Sometimes, I made arrangements with friends to get the mail at the same time. So we’d meet at the post office, and hopefully have to spend 15 minutes there, standing in line parcel-slip in hand.

And when I didn’t want to go in, I could just call down to Hannah (the charming postie with the only kiwi accent in town) and ask if anything arrived for me. She would know most times without even checking the system. She’d remember if she saw my name on a package.

That’s not the case anymore. My mailbox sits downstairs, but I maybe only get around to checking it every couple of days. Though I’ve been trying to get better at that.

Today, I got a letter from CBC. It was from the Pension centre. We get little notes about our balances etc. every couple of months. I normally don’t even look at the total, I just shred them when I see what it is.

It’s a good thing I didn’t this time.

This is NOT a good thing.

This is too much temptation. I’d LOVE to deposit this cheque. But I shouldn’t. I can’t! It was sent in error, they were supposed to hold on to the pension money for six months and then if I hadn’t been re-hired by then, they’d pay it out in the manner of my choice.

Now I have to go straighten this out. Because I know it’s in my best interest to have that money sitting in a pension somewhere. I know that every day when I walk down the street and see all these retired folks doing silly retiree things. I know it when I hear my coworkers talk about itching for early retirement.

But really? It’s hard to think that practically. I’m 24. I’d love to just keep it.

3 Responses to “Unwanted gift”

  1. Megan Says:

    You already know this, of course, but you’re way better off with that money in a CBC pension. And make sure that ALL of the money you’re entitled to goes back into your pension. There will be both an employer share and an employee share. The $4K might be both, or it might be just the contributions you paid in.

  2. Jackie S. Quire Says:

    Yah, there’s no question I will be straightening this out. I believe this is just what I’ve paid in, but thanks for the heads up!

  3. Megan Says:

    If it’s just what you’ve paid in, there will be another $4K that the CBC will put back into your pension. Make sure you get it. You worked for that money.

Leave a Reply

