Tidbit time!

  • Sometimes I make the sliding door opening to the porch smaller than I know Sully can squeeze through. I’m not being cruel (ok, maybe just a little) I think it’s good for him to learn how to problem-solve without my help.
  • Friday was “passive aggressive letter” day. Probably a misnomer on my part, my series of letters weren’t so much passive aggressive as they were necessary, and direct. I had been putting off writing these letters for quite some time. It felt good to be proactive.
  • I finally dealt with the noisy neighbours upstairs. This was part of passive-aggressive letter day. I finally wrote a note that said something along the lines of “I’m sorry I have to do this, I gather you have little ones and there’s only so much you can do, but the noise is getting a little disruptive down here.” I was nice, I was diplomatic, I tried to be understanding. And then…
  • My upstairs neighbours are moving. The day after I wrote my note (which was by far the NOISEST day so far, I swear it sounded like there were 15 kids up there) the young mother came to my door, apologizing profusely (I felt SO bad…) and telling me they just found a house they’ll be moving into at the end of the month. Honestly, I think they made the right choice. These apartments are nice, but they’re no place for a young kid… let alone two. And it’ll be nice to have a day go by when I’m not worried the light fixtures are about to crack from all the clanging and crashing up there.
  • A friend from Rankin Inlet came into Kelowna Thursday night. Turns out she lives in Oliver (for now) and that’s only 1.5 hrs away!! We were friends, though not super close, up north, but I tell you… was it ever good to spend time with someone who knows what it’s like up there. Who shares a little bit of that part of my life. Who knows how hard it can be. I think that’s why I still monitor the northern bloggers via facebook, blogs (to an admittedly lesser degree) and twitter. Shared experience, you know?
  • Are chestnuts deadly to dogs? I hope not… I took the pup for a walk/play downtown over the weekend, and we started playing fetch with chestnuts. He didn’t eat any of them, but it occurred to me as we drove back (and as he munched happily on the hard shell) that maybe they are toxic to pups. Anyone know?

That’s all for now… trying to get back on a 3x weekly blogging schedule. It seems since I have more reliable access to phone lines, I’m not much of a blogger. It used to be the blog were my main line of communication with friends and family. Now I actually talk to people again, and I guess the side effect is that I don’t feel like I’m bursting with a need to vent as much anymore.

And maybe that’s a good thing. Maybe that means I’m happier 🙂

Leave a Reply

