Take two

Wow.

All I can say is wow.

I wasn’t all that sure about posting those two photos and asking for advice, but man oh man am I glad I did. What I thought were ‘acceptable’ photos could have been so much better. And thanks to you guys, hopefully, I accomplished that.

So thanks to everyone who came out with such positive, constructive suggestions. I didn’t get one single “you look like a smelly dog turd” comment. In fact, whenever I feel a little self-conscious I’ll make sure to come back and read your guys’ feedback.

I’ll post the re-shoot below. I did a couple things differently. I shot it against a door (that’s why you see the framing around me). While taupe is a perfectly fine wall colour, as you all noticed it does NOTHING for my complexion. I didn’t even bother taking one with the glasses, thanks to your suggestions. I used an angled lamp to deal with some of the shadow issues, and I tried to smile a little bit more.

I’m hoping on one of my trips to the Vancouver office I might be able to get some real headshots done. Or if the CBC no longer does that, I may very well have to spring for them myself. Amusing to think that a RADIO reporter would need to have a portfolio like that.

Anyways, just a little thank you to everyone who commented and voted. I couldn’t/shouldn’t have done this without you!

9 Responses to “Take two”

  1. Megan Says:

    Hubba hubba!

  2. Mongoose Says:

    Oh yeah. That is NICE.

  3. Kara Says:

    Looks very nice!! I did like your other outfit though as far as the professional look goes.

    I really like your hair!

    • Jackie S. Quire Says:

      Yah, I liked the collared shirt look too, but when I was looking back at the photos, I found it was sitting funny, bunching in an odd way. That’s why I went with this one.
      I only realized through this exercise that I really don’t have much in the way of ‘professional’ clothing.
      Thanks for your input!

  4. Fawn Says:

    Nice! That looks much warmer, and still professional.

  5. jen Says:

    Thumbs up!

  6. Townie Says:

    For the record, I like this better, but I still like the glasses. Then again, I’ve always like glasses on women. It conveys a sense of…intelligence or wisdom. Which I like, but that’s me.

    • Jackie S. Quire Says:

      I know what you mean, Townie. I’m generally a glasses-fan too. I might try them again if I ever get real photos taken, but I obviously don’t have the lighting skillz to make it work on my own 😉

  7. sister Says:

    much better

Leave a Reply

