Public Opinion time!

Hey folks,

So I’m going to be doing stories for the CBC TV on Monday and they needed a photo from me.

I took the two below this evening but can’t decide which I like better. The qualifications are as follows:

– headshot

– “medium” expression (whatever that is)

– neutral background

– professional outfit (as much as can be seen)

They’re basically the same photo, one with glasses. One without. I guess the non-glasses has a bit more of a ‘smile’ to it.

So let the voting process begin! You can either leave a comment with an explanation or fill out the poll below.

Thanks in advance for your input!

DSCF2380edit 1

DSCF2372edit

14 Responses to “Public Opinion time!”

  1. Kara Says:

    I had to click option 3!! Your skin looks the same colour as the background. Other than that, I think I liked no glasses better.

    So try again with a different background if possible!

  2. Fawn Says:

    You are so pretty, but I’m with Kara on the colour! (You could maybe perk them up in Photoshop or by using Picnik.com?)

    I love the outfit AND your glasses. (Glasses are high in my mind since I just got new ones!) But I think of these two I also prefer without.

    I think a “medium” expression means you’re allowed to smile a little more — not looking delighted, but this is pretty neutral. I’d bet yoiu could use that expression in a passport photo. πŸ™‚

    I think you can afford a little more smile and a little more warmth. πŸ˜€

  3. Kennie Says:

    I have to agree with Kara … maybe if tomorrow is a nice sunny day, find some one to take a picture of you outside in natural light … but with just scenery in the background – like sky .. or a snow bank if you have those.

    But that yellow wall in the background … yucky!

  4. Kayla Hounsell Says:

    Hi chickadee. This TV reporter thinks you have great TV HAIR! haha Maybe consider it full-time? Hope things are going well out there! The east coast misses you! πŸ™‚
    K.

  5. Mongoose Says:

    Yeah, that yellow wall is a problem. Other than that, the second one. The glasses hide your eyes and make you look old. And I think your expression is fine. Looks like someone I’d trust to give me news. πŸ™‚

  6. jen Says:

    See, I like the glasses, it’s got that professional look. I also agree, no yellow background and more smilage. Hair looks awesome!

  7. jen Says:

    Oh, I also thought if you want to use one of those and don’t have time to take another, just make it Black & White. That would fix the colour issue. But then you so have to go with the glasses one! Glasses in B&W is super professional. πŸ™‚

  8. Ms. Inuk Says:

    Same comments as above. Great picture but needs better lighting (and a little bit of a smile).

  9. Kathryn Says:

    Glasses = check
    Smile = needs more πŸ™‚
    Background = too yellow
    Hair = fantastic

  10. Robyn Says:

    I’d have to go with the pack on this one… different background/lighting needed. Too much shadow on your beautiful face!

    Also, I prefer the non-glasses pic in this case…. although the glasses ARE a more professional look, in this particular photo they’re adding shadow to your eye-area, making you look over-tired. (Also, this IS kind of a passport pic… looking kind of like a serial killer or ex-con. No offense, it happens to the best of us :P)

    Tip for taking good glasses photos: make sure the frames are pushed up as high on your nose as they’ll possibly go. This reduces glare and ensures that all of your eye is visible through the frame (see how in the top photo, the top of your frame is sitting right on the top of your eye?)

    Luck!

  11. Jackie S. Quire Says:

    My gosh!
    You guys have been so helpful. Thanks so much for the feedback. I’m going to give this another whirl I think, and I’ll try to post the results later.
    I’m so grateful to have such a smart, kind, and insightful group of readers!!!!

  12. Carrie Says:

    I think this whole exercise is a hoot! I was having trouble adding my vote (option 3, because of the background) until I looked at the comments. This is a great read, funny and helpful.

  13. Clare Says:

    Jacquie, I prefer the second picture. With regards to the yellow colouring, I’m assuming there were fluorescent lights around. That causes the “temperature” of the image to be different than it actually is. If you have a white balance setting on the camera, change it from “automatic” or tungston” to “fluorescent” and re shoot the photo. That should correct the colouration.

    I played with the image a bit, and corrected the colour a little. Its better but still less than perfect. I don’t seem to have your email address anymore but if you send me an email I’ll send you what I have.

    Just a suggestion though, if you’re going to have your photo on television, consider a professional photo shoot. You could get some head shots, that look professional, and less like a mug shot. You’re in a creative business and it would be worth your time/money to have it as part of your portfolio.

  14. lemaclean Says:

    I have to agree with the masses. The colour is poor 😦 You could try hanging a sheet behind you in a flattering colour. I do like the glasses shot, but they seem to cast a shadow over your eyes. I don’t have any specific thoughts on how to fix it tho. A bit of a smile would be good too, you do look a little mug-shot-ish. The outfit is great, a nice professional look.

Leave a Reply

