I have a date!

Haha, don’t get too excited. It’s not a REAL date. Well, maybe it is…

It’s a friend-date. And those can be the best 🙂

A couple of weeks ago the people who lived next door to me moved out. They had a toddler and honestly, I don’t blame them. The place we live in is nice, but it’s not big enough for a kid. And also, pretty sure the downstairs neighbours hated them. I’ve got no proof of that, but I have serious resentment issues with the people who live above me (and I’ve finally figured out that all the noise is because they must have a wee one who’s just learning how to walk. Either that or they run around and fall down and cry a lot). So it makes sense.

The person who moved in is a woman by herself. I first met her when she was moving in. I was downstairs in the garage and this poor woman was slowly shuffling a cage across the cement floor. I asked her if she wanted help, she meekly accepted my help… and in the process of carrying her little rabbit to the elevator, discovered she was my new neighbour.

Since then, it’s like every time I see her, she’s trying to move something that requires two people, by herself. So every time I ask her if she wants or needs help and tell her if she ever needs anything, to let me know. As far as I’m concerned, we single gals have to look out for each other. Otherwise, we end up kicking bunny-rabbit cages across a garage by ourselves.

So I’ve been nice to her. And later last week I felt bad. Felt like I was harassing her, maybe I sounded patronizing always asking her if she wanted help, asking if she wanted to hang out, have tea or coffee some time. She never took me up on my offers, so I told myself not to bug her anymore. Be friendly, but not to push it.

Then today, as I was taking the pup out for a walk, we met in the hallway. She told me she’d knocked on my door a couple days ago. She came to ask if I wanted to go to a movie. I said yes, and so we’re going to some undoubtably terrible movie called 12 Dogs of Christmas (I think she picked it because she knows I have a dog — and I’m not going to be picky) on Thursday.

It’s nice to make friends on my own. It’s been awhile.

2 Responses to “I have a date!”

  1. Robyn Says:

    Just make sure your puppy doesn’t eat her bunny. That’s no way to make friends!

  2. Jackie S. Quire Says:

    Oh no!
    Actually, that shouldn’t be a problem. He played very nicely with Shameus.
    That-slash-ignored my efforts to make them play.

Leave a Reply

