Order of the day

It’s funny, when I lived up north my place was a constant mess.

Seriously. It was embarrassing. I hated having people over because it always meant that I had hours of cleaning to do beforehand. I didn’t even like answering the door because I knew that people could just peek around the corner and see my kitchen counter littered with dishes.

In hindsight, I’ve said that it was because I didn’t ‘respect’ my apartment. I didn’t like it, I never would have chosen it if I had the option. It was too big, it was poorly laid out, it was old.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not exactly a high maintenance girl when it comes to apartments. Granted, I’ve lived in some nice places: but they weren’t the ritziest. My first place in Ottawa was nice enough. Maybe a bit dated but it was the perfect size for my room mates and I, and it had two floors with the bedrooms upstairs. My second place was in Quebec City in a cute little 1-bedroom in Vieux Quebec. That place was a find. Again, it wasn’t ultra posh — the floors were slanted in one direction and there was probably about 20 coats of paint on the walls (underneath the one I ceremoniously slapped on there with Robyn). But I loved that little apartment … and it showed. I was meticulous with dishwashing. My closet was organized according to type of garment and colour.

That all stopped in Rankin. Some of it was that I never really unpacked. Some of it was never really knowing what to do with all that freaking space. And — I’m ready to admit it now — some of it was just general unhappiness.

How things have changed.

I’m back to my old self, it seems. Control freak extraordinaire. Organization Queen. Every time I unload my dishwasher I smile because all of my glasses fit neatly into one cupboard. All the pens go in my Innatech mug with the broken handle. Sully’s toys in the toy basket.

One of the things I love most about living alone is that everything is always right where I last put it. And what with me being a neurotic freak lately, I always know where that place is.

This is a very good thing.

3 Responses to “Order of the day”

  1. Kathryn Says:

    I recently moved out of a place that I wasn’t happy in – and into a new apartment. The exact same thing happened to me. Such a great feeling. 🙂

  2. Megan Says:

    I am trying to figure out how to make my boys tidy up. I am not really a neat freak, but the constant disorder drives me nuts. I am able to handle it for short periods of time, but then the crazy starts to build and I start yelling.

    If you have tips about how to make Steve put his laundry away, please share.

  3. I can hear you laughing from here « Serendipity Now Says:

    […] I can hear you laughing from here Reader asks… […]

Leave a Reply

