Kelowna hearts me.

I like Kelowna.

And Kelowna likes me.

Actually… Kelowna REALLY likes me. Perhaps an inappropriate amount of liking. But to date, that’s only worked out in my favour, so I really shouldn’t complain.

You want to know WHY Kelowna likes me?

BECAUSE I’m a TOURIST.*

~OOOooo ahhhh~

And Kelowna is a TOURIST TOWN. And they LOVE their tourists. And they want their tourists to love them back.

So what does a tourist town like Kelowna do when they want tourists to love them Long Tim*?

They don’t give them parking tickets.

I’m not joking. I’ve had this happen to me TWICE in the past week. Not because I’m TRYING to cheat the system. I just happened.

The first time, I just forgot to feed the meter. When I didn’t get a ticket I just figured the meterdude hadn’t been patrolling that block. A lucky coincidence.

Then today I actually didn’t pay the meter on purpose. This is lame, but I didn’t have any cash on me, and the parking ticket fine is only 5 dollars. That’s only a dollar more than it costs to park all day anyways. I didn’t relish the thought, but time was tight, I didn’t have time to go to a bank, and said ‘what the hell.’

I figured I was screwed. Coworkers got parking tickets. I saw the meterman myself a couple of times, marking not just for non-payers but also for over-stayers (there’s a time limit on the time you can stay in a particular stall — this lends to a very interesting game of ‘swap the spot’ among my coworkers). There was no justifiable reason why I’d get anything BUT a five dollar ticket on my windshield.

So imagine my surprise when I left work to find no little white notice on my car. The meter was still blinking 0:00 and had been all day. But I wasn’t ticketed.

Thank you, PEI plates. Today? You saved me five buckaroonies.

 

*Or at least I look and act like one.

**It’s an Office reference. Roll with it.

3 Responses to “Kelowna hearts me.”

  1. Edith MacDonald Says:

    Jackie: I’m glad your PEI plate is serving you well.

    Edith

  2. L. Says:

    So what does a tourist town like Kelowna do when they want tourists to love them Long Tim*?

    I was going to go with “build an IHOP,” but a lack of parking tickets is cool, too.

Leave a Reply

