Keep on trekkin’

So apparently, I hike now. And, apparently, I like it.

Yesterday the pup and I packed up and hit Kalamoir park… it’s a regional park 5 minutes from my house. If there’s anything Kelowna’s got going for it, it’s the number of dog-friendly parks and hiking trails.

See… the thing about hiking is that it’s basically walking. I like walking. And hiking is just walking… plus some elevation. I’m not so much a big fan of the elevation part… but the vast majority of hiking trails are set up so you go down a path and then have no choice but to climb back up if you ever want to get home.

This is very sneaky, and also very smart. It tricks lazy-butts like me into getting exercise. And that’s certainly not a bad thing.

But the other great thing about hiking (aka walking-with-elevation) is that it generally provides for endless photographing opportunity. I have been pretty slack with my photography since I left the island. Life’s been kind of busy lately… though as I say that I can’t for the life of me think of what I’ve been doing.

I guess part of it is just growing pains: adjusting to a new job, to a new town, to a new life… that’s tiring. So I spend a lot of my time it seems in ‘recovery mode.’ But things are getting easier. This past week was the ‘easiest’ so far at work. Story ideas came easier (though call-backs didn’t… *grumble) and my writing’s getting tighter. There’s also talk of me going on a training course next month. That’ll be nice, seeing as I don’t think I’ll be able to make it down home for Christmas. Next year. I swear to god, next year I will be going home.

It snowed here on Thursday. It’s November and we hadn’t had any snow at all until then. I woke up in the morning to see this: (you may have seen the header version of this earlier this week)

DSCF2156

But now all that snow’s gone… except for up on the mountains. What’s interesting about that photo there is that the snow is blocking out the lake and mountains beyond the trees there. What you are seeing is just the golf course outside my bedroom window. But really, there’s so much more out there that’s being covered by snow-clouds.

Compare that to my current header (taken from this photo:)DSCF2190

Which I took on my hike yesterday. That’s Lake Okanagan and the city of Kelowna beyond it in the background.

Crazy to think that winter started months ago up north… but here it’s still fall and probably will be for another couple weeks at least.

2 Responses to “Keep on trekkin’”

  1. sightseer Says:

    Good pictures! I actually Like hiking in the elevations. The Great Smoky Mountains are almost at my back door. some great Hiking opportunities are there.

  2. Jackie S. Quire Says:

    I’ve been to smokey mountain in Cape Breton… beautiful.
    But never the Great Smoky Mountains. Maybe some day 🙂

Leave a Reply

