The end of the rainbow

I first saw it as I rounded the bend of a steep mountain incline. The rock had blocked my view of the water ahead for quite a distance, shielding the beauty beyond. As I turned the steering wheel to the far left, a sparkle caught my attention in-between the wiper blades; I saw a flash of colour out of the corner of my eye.

Curiosity prevailed over safe driving practises and I turned my entire head towards the lake. There, to the far edge of the Okanogan’s crystal waters a rainbow emerged and soared towards the clouds. Stealing glances out the passenger window, I watched as it glided its way across the water. Each time I checked the road in front of me and looked back at the colourful arch, it had moved closer to the middle of the lake.

Finally finding its resting spot, the mirage began to focus its energies on colour definition. I watched, transfixed, as the lines between red, yellow, blue and indigo solidified into clear stripes of orange, green and purple. Like a prism, with no room for hazy transitions.

Snapping out of a trance, I corrected the steering wheel of my car and looked back again through the trees… but it was too late. Spent from the effort, the rainbow had burnt itself out. And all that remained was the sun peeking through the clouds, a fine mist of rain, and the glistening, undisturbed, water.

4 Responses to “The end of the rainbow”

  1. geri sharkey Says:

    Hi Jackie…

    …beautifully written…you get an A+++ for creativity…!

    Have you heard from Mary Lou yet ?

    Good luck at work tomorrow !!

  2. Fawn Says:

    I can see it!!!

    (AND! I love your title.)

  3. Chasing rainbows « Serendipity Now Says:

    […] as I walked out, I spied a majestic rainbow, that looked like it was arcing out of Okanagan Lake. Knowing just how fast these guys can disappear, I sped home and ran through the halls of my apartment building to grab my […]

  4. My love-hate relationship with books « Serendipity Now Says:

    […] Actually, it was the day I saw and wrote this little entry. […]

Leave a Reply

