Open Letter #1

I am blatently stealing the “open letter” concept from another blog I read. This is not uncommon for me. I also stole the “reader asks” format from Megan. Hey, I never said I was original. Just ranty!

 

Dear former landlord:

I am so glad I no longer rent from you. And even more glad that after this rental application I will never ever have to rely on you for anything ever again.

I am a GOOD TENANT. You of all people should have recognized that. I lived next to you for almost two years. I was friendly and respectful and didn’t have parties or do anything more rowdy than crank my iPod when doing the dishes.

I know we didn’t always see eye to eye, but I thought we had reached some kind of understanding over the years.

So please tell me where you get off giving me a crappy reference for my new apartment? Where do you get off telling them that I was DIRTY. Where do you get off charging the CBC almost TWO THOUSAND DOLLARS to clean the place? Especially after you I had knocked on your door and asked to borrow a vacuum cleaner and cleaning supplies and you said NOT TO BOTHER.

If it was a big deal, you should have said so upon the ‘march-out.’ I would have done something about it. No, it wasn’t spotless when I left. Yes, I burned the carpet with an iron once. But come on.

I was a 20-something single gal. You, a woman who cleans for a living. So yes, my standards of cleanliness and yours NATURALLY were going to be different.

Here’s hoping I never have to rent from someone like you again.

Sincerely,

A very disgruntled and resentful,

Jackie S. Quire.

 

PS. I signed my lease today!

9 Responses to “Open Letter #1”

  1. Mongoose Says:

    What a witch. I hope your new landlords are cooler.

  2. Robyn Says:

    Hahaha, if you look back in my blog I’ve done the “open letter” thing too (although I didn’t call it that….) Great minds think alike?

    Either that, or we’re all just really cliche.

  3. Megan Says:

    Geez. How did you find out they gave you a crappy reference?

  4. Jackie S. Quire Says:

    The woman who I’ve been working with at the property management company in Kelowna asked me about it. I told her what happened and she said “Fair enough, I just wanted to ask because there are always two sides to every story.”

  5. Shanlee Says:

    That’s horrible. I hate it when people are 2 faced (and also plan to profit from that very same 2 facedness). Glad your new landlords didn’t believe the crazy old one.

    • Jackie S. Quire Says:

      Me too, Shanlee. Oh well. All that really matters is that I got the new apartment. Because after this application, the odds of ever needing to go back that far for a rental reference are pretty slim.

  6. Apartment drama « Serendipity Now Says:

    […] of course, monkey-wrenches were thrown into the mix thanks to a totally uncalled for, less-than-flattering reference from my past landlord but when I explained the situation to the property manager, she was very understanding and sent me […]

Leave a Reply

