On family medical emergencies

I just realized I didn’t ever write about this…

Last week, some of you might have seen a status update along the lines of “send good vibes to my grandfather” on my Twitter feed.

He’s okay now, but he was having some persistent headaches, memory issues and some dizziness. No one thought too much of it until we got a call from people at the card party saying he was disoriented and probably should drive home.

Mom and I went out to their place as soon as we got the call and stayed the night. The next morning they went to emergency where some tests, CAT scans etc. were done. Eventually they realized he had two subdural hematomas, and was going to need to be taken to Moncton for surgery.

Brain surgery.

Now that may be a little dramatic, because the procedure is relatively non-invasive. They needed to drill into his skull to relieve the pressure that had been building up there. I was relatively well-informed about what was going to happen, but it was still pretty scary.

He was taken by ambulance the next morning, had surgery that afternoon and was in recovery for a couple days. He came home with his skeet-shooting hat cocked at a jaunty angle, covering his swollen new stitches… but with a smile on his face. He was glad to be home, and feeling better.

And I was just so glad.

I’ve been pretty lucky when it comes to grandparents. I still have two living grandparents, both on my mom’s side and they’ve been in fairly good health all my life. Just last summer my Nannie took my sister and I to the UK in what can only be described as an epic trip across Scotland and England. Grampie still goes hunting on a regular basis. I lost my other Grandmother three weeks into my first year of university, and that was incredibly hard, and my Poppie (her husband) passed when I was just five or six.

So yah, this was a bit of a scare. But at the same time, it makes me really grateful that I’ve had the time to come home and see them, and actually BE a grand-daughter to them, instead of the absent one I’ve been these past couple years.

Believe it or not, my 80-year-old grandmother reads this blog. My mom has set it as her home page, so when she clicks on the internet icon on the desktop of the old computer I had back in first-year university, she can read “my stories.”

I hear she sometimes reads them out loud to Grampie too. How cute!

I am a lucky gal to have them in my life 🙂

Picture 029

5 Responses to “On family medical emergencies”

  1. Edith MacDonald Says:

    Jackie:

    I’m so glad to hear your grandfather is going to be ok. What a scary time for you all.

    Edith

  2. Mongoose Says:

    Yeah, you are. Good for you. 🙂

    I’m glad he’s ok.

  3. Mongoose Says:

    Seeing as the post on the US that’s on my Reader isn’t here, I’ll comment on this one, thusly: one time I saw a cool photo in National Geographic, and it turns out the guy had to do more than 200 takes to get it to look good. And then he still had to sell it to someone. I think about him whenever I think I should quit my day job and take photos. 🙂

    • Jackie S. Quire Says:

      😛 It’ll be up tomorrow. But good point. I’ll likely never be a full-time photographer. I like to do it as the whim hits, and I’m certainly not always ‘on.’

Leave a Reply

