She’s so lucky

I’ve had a lot of time to think over the past couple months. I’ve been driving a lot and sitting around a lot with nothing but my own thoughts for entertainment. And while you might think that’d translate into more blog posts… as you’ve seen, that’s not the case. Not everything that goes through this piddly little brain of mine is blog-worthy, you see.

But if nothing else, I’ve come away from this whole experience… this whole job-loss-unemployment-rehire-move-across-the-country-multiple-times fiasco feeling much more balanced and, dare I say it, HAPPY.

At least for now.

For now I feel lucky for the friends I have, the people I’ve met and the things I’ve had the chance to do in life. And because it’s so darn rare that I feel this way, I should probably take this chance to write it out. After all, it IS Thanksgiving.

So here goes:

  • I am thankful for my Mom and Dad. Not everyone is lucky enough to have the kind of parents who wouldn’t think twice about opening their door, fridge, garage and… lord knows what else… to a wayward daughter and her pup. Moving back home again is never easy, but it was the right choice and they made the move as easy as it could possibly have been.
  • I am thankful for my sister, who when she heard I was getting laid off, was equally excited to hatch a scheme with me to run away to South Korea for a year or so. It didn’t end up happening – we both got jobs – but it gave me something to look forward to. Some direction in what felt like an aimless pursuit of nothing. And the very idea that she’d even consider such a trip with her annoying big sister of ALL PEOPLE, is such a compliment.
  • I’m thankful that I’ve had the past two and a half months to adjust to life in the south, and realize that this IS where I belong.
  • I feel so lucky to live in such a beautiful part of the world, where a simple autumn drive along the New Brunswick Fundy coast can take my breath away.
  • I am thankful for maple trees. They turn such a beautiful shade of red! I can’t believe I’d forgotten that. Forgotten what fall looks and smells and feels like. I love fall.
  • I am thankful for my friend Ashlee, her inspiration ways and unflinching spirit and I’m hopeful that she’s on the upside of her battle.
  • I’m so glad that I’ve had the chance to renew friendships I’d neglected for way too long (you know who you are)
  • I’m thankful for my former coworkers in Quebec City who welcomed me back for a visit with open arms and words of encouragement. They reminded me why I loved working for the Mothercorp, and that it’s where I belong.
  • I’m thankful for my little green car and how reliable he is.
  • I’m thankful that the doctors in Moncton and Charlottetown knew what they were doing, and that we could have Nanny and Grampie over for Thanksgiving dinner.
  • I’m thankful for TURKIES and TRADITIONAL TURKEY DINNER and CRANBERRY SAUCE and STUFFING and POTATOES and TURNIPS… (I love turkey dinner and may or may not have announced that if I’m ever on death row I want turkey dinner for my last meal. My grandparents thought I was nuts for even thinking such a thing).
  • I’m thankful for strangers who have welcomed me with open arms in Moncton, Halifax and Ottawa.
  • I’m thankful for the mini-spy-camera and that I’ve stumbled across a hobby that I really enjoy.
  • I’m thankful for words of encouragement and support from former classmates, coworkers, friends, family and fellow bloggers over these past couple of months. Admittedly, they’ve been rocky… here’s hoping I’m coming up and out on the other side.
  • I am thankful that I had the time off to do what I wanted and needed to do, see the people I wanted to see and get a little perspective too.
  • And I’m truly glad that I have a job again, direction in my life and that I’m moving to such a beautiful city full of hope and promise.

It feels good πŸ™‚

2 Responses to “She’s so lucky”

  1. Geri Says:

    Good for you, Jackie ! You have done superb !! Glad you had some time to catch up on lost sleep & renew friendships ..Enjoy ,Enjoy, Enjoy the next chapter (s)… πŸ™‚

  2. Jackie S. Quire Says:

    Thanks, Geri!

Leave a Reply

