Good fortune and good timing

Reader says: “You’re amazing”

Wow… thanks! Normally, I don’t feel so amazing. Normally I just feel “meh.” But yah, I can do amazing today. I could do amazing yesterday… and the day before that too.

Because now, NOW I finally have direction. I have a path…

I

HAVE

A

JOB

And it feels…. amazing.

The last couple months have been great, but they’ve been hard too. I’ve had no shortage of time for soul-searching. I’ve had days and weeks to think about me, about what I want, about what I need. I thought I had it all figured out but of course, I was wrong.

When I first moved back home, I told anyone and everyone who’d listen that I had zero interest in leaving the Maritimes. I dropped off a resume and cover letter with Veterans Affairs’ communication office as soon as I arrived. I didn’t even SEARCH for jobs further west than New Brunswick. I was perfectly content to be an Island gal again and get back to my East Coaster roots.

I’ve spent so much of the past five years as an ‘other,’ first in France (a second-language and out-of-country ‘other’), then in Quebec (again, a linguistic and cultural ‘other’) and finally in Nunavut (language = ‘other’, culture = ‘other’, race = ‘other’). It was just so refreshing to be ‘home’ again. To feel like I belong.

So it was nice. I slept in my old room for two months. I broke in my ‘new’ vehicle (7000 kilometers in 6 weeks baby!) I got to see old friends. And I’m glad I did, because this little vacation of mine is coming to an end. And it’s probably time.

I was reaching the point where I had to make a serious move in SOME kind of direction. I couldn’t just float along aimlessly forever. As the rest of the world returned to work and school at the beginning of September I found myself without any real reason to get out of my pyjamas. Sometimes I’d make the daring move across my room to my desk and laptop… and flip through a chapter or two of my Photoshop tutorial, but it was like I was just wasting time.

Finally, on Tuesday, I got out of the house, signed up for a library card, took out a couple books, put my name on the waiting list for a couple more and ticked off all the “Are you interested in…” boxes on the library volunteer form. I had decided I was going to put my name in for substitute teaching in the Eastern School District. I was going to start looking at jobs in Ottawa. If direction wasn’t going to be handed to me… I was going to have to create my own.

And then the phone rang.

It was MotherCorp human resources. They wanted my home address so they could send me a letter of offer via registered mail… for the full-time, permanent, reporter job I wrote about last week, in Kelowna BC.

Yes, it’s a big move. Yes, it’s about as far away from the Maritimes as you can get… without going North (been there, done that!) and the cost of living is high (at least housing is… what I wouldn’t give to just get a job in Quebec already!) But I can honestly say, my reaction – my EXCITEMENT – when I found out that I got the job was genuine. And I’m even more glad that I WAS truthful with them in my interview, because when the woman gave me the job description this time over the phone, she said two-thirds reporting, one-third morning show work… and that suits me just fine.

Plus, (if and) when I decide I want to move on to another position, they’ll know what direction I want to go… and that’s really helpful.

I know i’m not the only one out there who was hit by downsizing or layoffs or the economy in the past year. And I don’t like being a flaunty LOOK I’M HAPPY person, but seriously? I’ve done pleanty of the LOOK I’M MISERABLE posts for the time-being.

And plus, this is a very, good, thing 🙂

4 Responses to “Good fortune and good timing”

  1. Megan Says:

    We are very happy for you.

  2. Allison Buchan-Terrell Says:

    Congrats Jackie! That is great news. And I am glad to hear honesty did prevail in the end. When do you start?

  3. Jackie S. Quire Says:

    😀 Thanks Allison! My first day of work will be the 26th of October. It’s coming on fast!

  4. Stacie Says:

    Good luck, Kelowna is awesome!

Leave a Reply

