Finally! A Smartie even *I* can enjoy!

Little known fact about your humble blogger: I’m allergic to red food colouring. Not yellow. Not blue. Red.

As legend goes, it all began one stormy Valentine’s Day when I was just a wee one. Small enough to fit in your pocket, but big enough to eat cake. Specifically, a large heart-shaped cake with deep red icing.

Not long after consuming what was likely a very large piece for a very small girl, I broke out in a bevy of itchy hives. Our thoughtful family doctor suggested some kind of hive-repellant syrup. But to everyone’s dismay the hives just got worse. Yep, you guessed it… like many medications for kids these days… it was cherry flavoured AND coloured. It was a little while before everyone figured out it was the red dye that was causing the itchy splotchies, but I came out of it no worse for wear… save a couple scabs.

I was, from that moment, banned from consuming any red artificial colourants. For most of my childhood I had only ever experienced what cherries, watermelons and strawberries tasted like when they were, well, cherries, watermelons and strawberries.

My parents were vigilant, and I was too. In fact, my sister and I even re-wrote that classic candy jingle to sing “When you eat your smarties do you eat the GREEN ones last?” (we’d normally shout the GREEN part really loud so everyone else’s ‘red’ was drowned out)

My first hotmail address (way back in the 7th grade – that’s 1998 folks) actually was ‘smartiegreen.’ A little tribute to me being artificial-food-colouring-ly-challenged.

So imagine my surprise to see the following advertised on TV this evening:

smarites

That’s right! I can now, if I choose, eat the FULL BOX of Smarties UNAIDED if I so choose! No more begging my friends to trade the red ones (and sometimes pink) for green or blue. Actually, according to Nestle’s press release/FAQ, green and blue aren’t even a trading option anymore! Their artificial colours are TOO artificial to create just yet.

So while the 24-year-old-me has gained a colour in that box of candy-coated chocolates, it lost two. And with them, a legacy.

Tragic!

4 Responses to “Finally! A Smartie even *I* can enjoy!”

  1. Finally! A Smartie even *I* can enjoy! « Serendipity Now Hello CMS - the best cms website Says:

    […] here to read the rest: Finally! A Smartie even *I* can enjoy! « Serendipity Now By admin | category: Object, Serendipity | tags: jackie, love, Serendipity, […]

  2. Mongoose Says:

    Ha. I’ve had email since 1993, and a computer since I was 8 (in the 5th grade, long before the InterWebs).

    On the other hand, I don’t have the coolness of a food allergy, nor have I ever been on the radio (oh wait, yes, twice, to request songs on the country music station late at night).

  3. Robyn Says:

    “ever vigilant”? Are we forgetting the Cherry Sodalicious-induced leprosy in first-year? 😛

    • Andrea Says:

      Yes, I seem to remember duct-taping a pair of oven mitts to your hands…or was it dish towels to your wrists? In either case, we took a page out of the Full House playbook.

Leave a Reply

