Photoshop: the first attempt

I took a little hiatus from my “let’s learn Photoshop” project while I was on the road… mostly because I didn’t have my laptop with me at the time.

I want to show you two pictures. One is untouched and the other I did some colour correction: “balanced” the hilights, darks and temperature.

 

Quebec 030909 0081

Quebec 030909 0081balancedbalanced 1

Now when I first saw the top photo, I was pretty pleased with myself. I thought it was a fairly flattering photo, nice colours, a good reflection of a beautiful afternoon in Quebec City.

Then I fiddled around in Photoshop for awhile and came up with the second photo (thanks to some guidance from the one and only Scott Kelby). In my mind’s eye the second really didn’t look all that different from the first. I didn’t make any big changes. But when I flipped back to the original I was shocked. I couldn’t believe I thought the first image was flattering. It looks cold and grey.

Like I said, I didn’t really get into anything too complicated, just some balancing, but I’m pretty pleased with the results.

4 Responses to “Photoshop: the first attempt”

  1. A. Says:

    The second one looks otherworldly, or as if might have been taken a few decades ago. I like it!

  2. Jackie S. Quire Says:

    Yah, I think that’s cuz I “softened” it a bit. I’ve still not really decided what I’m working towards, if I want my pictures to look ‘soft’ or ‘hard’ or ‘normal’… I don’t know.
    I’m so conflicted!

  3. Mongoose Says:

    Personally I like the first one better. The second one looks yellow to me.

  4. Fawn Says:

    Maybe it’s your monitor, Mongoose! It’s so hard to tell from one computer to another. I agree with you, though, Jackie. I sometimes touch up photos at Picnik.com and sometimes I try an effect, don’t really like it, undo it and then am shocked at how blah the original is. It’s amazing what a little brightening can do!

Leave a Reply

