Photos and Shop, take 2

So I’m sitting at my computer, puppy at my feet (par for the course) with what is probably the most expensive book I’ve bought since university opened to page 2.

I’ve spent the past 2 days preparing for this moment: I researched, I organized and most impressively of all, I reformatted my computer and installed a fresh version of Vista just for the occasion.

Because today is the day I learn how to use Photoshop.

Some of you might remember from the old blog a post I wrote dissing Photoshop. Well I took many of your opinions into consideration, and having watched Tina go from “my side” to the “dark side” over the past couple of months… well, I decided I’d give it a try.

After all, if my hero and photog-tutor Scott Kelby is an expert on the subject, it can’t be TOO bad.

It’ll be interesting to see what I can do with the program, I really decided to give it a go after printing a couple enlarged versions of photos I took when I was in the Gaspe. They looked fine on my computer, but printed they lacked “depth.” As Jen pointed out in my last post, only so much can be done with a point-and-shoot camera, but I’m hoping I can put off the purchase of a (D)SLR for awhile yet.

So for now, I try out CS3.

Wish me luck!!

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Photos and Shop, take 2”

  1. Mongoose Says:

    On the one hand, I can’t believe you’re selling out, and on the other hand, I look forward to seeing what you come up with. Have fun!

  2. Jackie S. Quire Says:

    Here’s my compromise: if I’ve done any real work on a photo (colour manipulation, for example), I will indicate that here on the blog.

    My real beef (I think) with Photoshop is that you never really know anymore if a picture has been altered or not.

    I think this plan deals with that issue nicely.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

