Fond memories of remote places

I wasn’t much of a photographer until I went to France. For those of you who weren’t around back then, that was back in 2006 when I spent the summer working at the Vimy/Beaumont Hamel WWI memorials in Northern France. Before I went, I bought my first digital camera – a HP 307, if memory serves me right. 3.2 mega pixels of digital goodness. I thought it was the greatest thing since sliced bread. It had not only a black-and-white feature, but a SEPIA feature too! I had reached the big time, that’s for sure.

It took some nice photos:

bday paris 054

(This one is taken after walking up the Eiffel Tower in Crocs, carrying a 60L backpacking bag. Big Mistake. While I used to affectionately refer to those bubblegum pink, rubber-soled monstrosities as “the poor-man’s Birkenstocks” I now blame that day for destroying my arches)

But of course, the poor thing died halfway into the summer, which about broke my heart, but I moved on to bigger and better cameras (the next one had *gasp* 6 mega pixels AND Canon’s colour-isolate gadget!!) and I started to take a real interest in composition and more slice-of-life shots. Over the past year (and with the addition of mini-spy-camera) I’ve been playing a lot more with aperture and shutter speed. And my family’s been very generous with their compliments. I’d never considered it before, but upon my mom’s suggestion I think I’m going to enlarge and frame some of my pictures as art for my new apartment (lol whenever that happens). I’ve got nothing on some of you photogs out there, but if I’m going to put mass-produced pictures of flowers and trees on my walls, I might as well balance it out a bit with some fond memories of remote places.

DSCF0791

(This one is from Aupik Island out by Sarah and Paul’s cabin on Big Meladine Lake. I don’t know if “Aupik Island” is its real name or not, but we call it that. When we stopped here during one of our fishing trips, I was just hit by the smell of the flowers that littered the island. I can only really describe it as a ‘warm’ fragrance. Pretty cool.)

But I feel like I’ve reached a bit of a plateau. All my photos look the same. Sure, I still get the odd “gasp” photo… but it’s cluttered among macro shots of flowers and mediocre landscape pictures. It’s discouraging.

DSCF1125

Any of you more experienced photographers have any suggestions?

2 Responses to “Fond memories of remote places”

  1. jen Says:

    lol whenever I hit that plateau, I end up with a new camera or a lens. My suggestion would be to search out some photos that inspire you and try to re-create it. A great source of inspiration photo.net….awesome place. You can also upload your photos and other photographers can give you suggestions and help. (it can be annoying though at times you may need a thick skin). And like always I suggest getting a digital SLR (do you have one yet?). The possibilities greatly increase with an SLR vs. a point and shoot camera.

  2. Jackie S. Quire Says:

    LOL! My unemployment means for the time being I will be delaying the purchase of a new camera / lens … but it is something I’m going to look at in the future.
    If it weren’t for the money issue, I would probably still wait a bit though too, to be honest. I really want to get a better grasp on aperature/shutter speed and how they work before making the move. I figure once I’ve mastered my little Fugifilm, I’ll set my sights on something better.
    I will take a look at photo.net though, that’s a great idea.
    Thanks!!!

Leave a Reply

