An alien in this tech-savvy world

So I have my first job interview tomorrow. And I’m honestly pretty excited. It’s in my field, and more-or-less in the direction I want to be going. It’s a program director (aka producer) gig at a campus radio station here in the Maritimes.

I don’t want to get my hopes up too high, but I have been doing a lot of reading on the position and I think it’s totally something I could do, and would enjoy. Also: it’s on the east coast. And I’ve pretty much decided I want to be here for now. I’ve been away too long and really feel at home here. It’s nice.

But here’s the strange part about my upcoming interview: I’m doing it online.

Now I know I’ve been out of the loop for awhile here. And online meetings are a pretty silly idea Up North where bandwidth speeds are barely twice the speed of dial up (though if they could fix that, it could be a practical tool for sure). But I felt like such a fool trying to suss out how Gotomeeting.com really works.

Do I need a micrphone? Is it MSN-chat style? Will they want to do a video conference? This whole digital world is suddenly so foreign to me.

ME. A girl who has, for the longest time, prided herself on being so up-to-date on the latest internet trends and fads, and dutifully reads WIRED magazine cover-to-cover. Two years up north and I’m now totally clueless.

I guess that’s not such a bad thing. I am behind on my knowledge of the tech-world because I was OUTSIDE. Experiencing things. Not sitting on the internet figuring out if I should be using Seesmic or Tweetdeck for optimal tweet-ing (*cringe, hate that expression). So that’s all okay.

But it does mean I may need to make a semi-embarassing phone call tomorrow prior to my interview. Just so I’ll have a grasp on how the whole thing will work, haha.

3 Responses to “An alien in this tech-savvy world”

  1. Mongoose Says:

    Cool. Good luck on the interview… good luck figuring out how to do the interview… good luck re-learning how to be a southerner. 🙂 Anyway, I hope you get the job!

    • Jackie S. Quire Says:

      Thanks… I’m going to need that on all accounts. Especially the adjusting part. It’s harder than I thought it would be.

  2. Mongoose Says:

    I know… Whenever I’d see the lights of Edmonton sprawled across the horizon when I was inbound from Fort Mac last year, I’d feel nauseous.

Leave a Reply

