Making the most of my last month

((This is from a couple weeks ago, but I couldn’t upload it until now. Enjoy))

It’s funny. When I tell people up here that I’m leaving, and they ask me when, and I say July 23rd, their response is always “Wow, that soon?”

When I tell people down south that I’m leaving, and they ask me when, and I say July 23rd, their response is always “Wow, that’s a while away still eh?”

It’s like northern Canada and southern Canada are on different planets. It’s like the north revolves around the sun more rapidly than the south. Time passes much faster “up here” than “down there.”

But regardless of how fast you flip the pages of your calendar, no matter how you slice it, I’ve got a month left in Rankin Inlet.

And I’m trying to make the most of it.

Last weekend, and the weekend before, I spent my time at a friend’s cabin. In between West Wing marathons and packing, I’ve been taking pictures. Some pretty nice ones, if I do say so myself.

Wanna see? Okay. (By the way, I know very well people like me – aka those in Nunavut with shit-tacular internet connections don’t really wait for these photos to load, and skip over them. That’s okay, I understand. But I promise you, I’m only uploading those I think are interesting and/or would appeal to you. They are pretty. Promise πŸ™‚ )

DSCF0097

That’s Sully and Kimmik (Inuktitut for “dog” :P) gazing out the door of Good Friend Nat’s Cabin.

DSCF0080

The view from behind G.F.N’s cabin. This water is fed from the inlet that makes Rankin Inlet.

DSCF0216

Mysterious wavy vegetation “out the road”

DSCF0226

Massive Inukshuk out the main road to the Diane River

DSCF0266

I snipe-ed a sik-sik! (aka cross between a ground hog, gopher, guinea pig etc. etc.) These guys literally have NO FEAR. I was maybe 20 feet away, with a dog, and a Honda and he came out FURTHER to play. Go figure.

DSCF0284

What did you expect? It’s RANKIN!

DSCF0287

See Dad? You would have been JUST FINE in Rankin. πŸ˜›

DSCF0123

See? There ARE flowers on the tundra. You just gotta look.

DSCF0156

Sometimes, especially at Nat’s cabin, I’m reminded of Peggy’s Cove.

DSCF0186

Sometimes I feel artsy. And like to take photos of myself in B&W. Sometimes I’m happy with how the look. This is one of those times.

DSCF0293

Kimmik tries to take Sully for a walk. Sully is not impressed. In the end, they don’t go for a walk. I’m not surprised.

Okay, that’s all for the day. Hope you enjoyed a little glance at Rankin!

6 Responses to “Making the most of my last month”

  1. Mongoose Says:

    Wow. And Lonely Planet thought Hay River was a backwater? LOL

    I love that first photo of Sully. It makes him look like such a big dog. πŸ™‚ And I like that B&W of you. Tres artsy.

    Thanks for the photos. πŸ™‚

    • Jackie S. Quire Says:

      Haha, Lonely Planet has this to say about dear Rankin:

      Muddy, dusty, littered and busy, Rankin was founded in 1955 as a mining center and is now the Kivalliq’s largest community (population 2358) and the regional government and transport center. From here you can go fishing in the bay or in the many rivers and lakes.

      WHAT? HOW DARE THEY CALL THIS PLACE MUDDY DUSTY OR LITTERED. Haha.

      I like that photo too, his fur looks SO RED.

  2. Karri Says:

    Beautiful pictures, Jackie!

    • Jackie S. Quire Says:

      Thanks Karri, I’ve really been trying to get a stock of “this is what Rankin is” photos so I’ll have them to look back on. So easy to forget to take pictures of your current “home” – I have like none of PEI.

      But that’ll change once I get back!

  3. Natalie Says:

    I definitely agree with you on the Peggy’s Cove thing… When I moved to Yellowknife it totally reminded me of Peggy’s Cove with the outcrops of rock and skinny trees. However, there’s no highway 333 to get me home to Halifax!

    Best of luck with your return to the Maritimes. πŸ™‚

  4. I’m famous (again) « Serendipity Now Says:

    […] me last week, asking permission to republish a photo-post I wrote as I was leaving Rankin. You might remember it. And the post went up on their website just the other […]

Leave a Reply

