Make no mistake

I’ve done a lot of stupid things in my life. I’ll admit it. Most of them harmless. Hopefully all of them forgivable.

But of all the seemingly silly, possibly dumb things I’ve done in my life… one thing I absolutely DON’T regret …

is Sully.

New blog, meet Sully:

DSCF0264

I got Sully when I first moved up north. I spent much of my first month in Iqaluit trying to make arrangements for the perfect pup… only to have my heart broken by a scam artist (but at least she didn’t get my money).

But then one of my best friends, Laura, stepped up and spent an afternoon playing with puppies down at the local pet shop (yah yah, spare me the lecture) and picked out this little guy:

IMG 2134

My parents weren’t impressed, especially my mom, at first. I had left behind a little gopher (read: guinea pig) just a couple months before because it wouldn’t survive the move up north… and I was deathly allergic to just about anything with more than two legs for most of my childhood…

So I can understand why they’d be hesitant. A dog is at least a 10-year commitment. But I swear to god, I don’t know what I would have done without the company.

Even now, he’s passed out at my feet because I took him running after work today (ha, him running, not me… I was on the ATV, but maybe one of these days…). But even just having that warm body at the end of the couch means a lot to me.

Because while being independent is a good thing. Being lonely is not.

I heart my dog.

Current album: the dulcid tones of Big Love Season 1, episode 6

3 Responses to “Make no mistake”

  1. Lena Says:

    What a gorgeous dog. I forgot how much he has grown. That camera takes great photos

  2. Jackie S. Quire Says:

    He’d look better if I didn’t give him that stupid haircut. But at least I didn’t ruin his face haha.

  3. Florencio Shive Says:

    Martel Electronics installs state agencies with the most thoroughly tested police video systems made in the United States. Also, if you are researching material for a police body cam, Martel created the Crime Cam. It’s a rugged military grade officer worn system that’s been put through hell.

Leave a Reply

